How to undo a bypass?

Comments

6 comments

  • Avatar
    rotblitz

    "I have deleted the brwser history"

    Deleting the browser history is useless.  You must flush the browser cache (termporary internet files) and the local resolver cache.
    http://www.opendns.com/support/category/10

    "I even deleted the bypass account on netgear.opendns.com and opened a new one for my new laptop. But there is still the same problem on my old laptop."

    Bypass accounts are based on user IDs and not on devices.  So, it would not really be necessary to delete the old bypass account unless your kids continue to use your previous user account on the old laptop.

    Do I understand right, you have problems just on the old laptop, not the new one? And your problem is that the old laptop does not use your Netgear/OpenDNS default settings?  Well, everything should work after you flushed your caches on this computer, and there is no bypass account for user IDs the kids are using, and you have configured your default settings as needed and expected, e.g. for youtube.com.

  • Avatar
    rotblitz

    You may also run the Management Utility program to verify the account associated with your router and checking the account listed on the status page.

  • Avatar
    kreon100

    Hi there,

    thanky very much for the super fast answer. But my problem still exists, that the old laptop does not use (all) my Netgear/OpenDNS default settings. For security reasons for example I have put the TLD *.asia or *.cn on the blacklist and this works just fine. But if I try youtube.com -which I do not want to be seen by my kids- I still have access to with my old laptop. Not with my other (not bypassed) devices like android phone etc. so the opendns does work in some ways.

    If I run the Management Utility program on my new computer there is no such thing like "Bypass list" on the status site. There is only the on/off-Button and the Button for the filter level.

    I have flushed all cache, the dns cache and the cache on the browser. History as well. To me it seems that I would have to delete the "memory" on the router in order to make him forget my old laptop to be allowed on all sites. But I cannot find anny buttons in the settings neiter on the router itself nor in the netgear.opendns.com-account settings.

  • Avatar
    rotblitz

    It seems your bypass account configuration is somehow corrupt.  Try with the instructions given at https://support.opendns.com/entries/22659859-I-have-nothing-filtered-on-my-parental-controls-and-am-blocked-from-reaching-facebook-and-hotmail-  - currently the last message from an OpenDNS employee.

  • Avatar
    kreon100

    Thanks again. My problem is solved, though I did not try your last hint.

    I solved it by installing the Netgear Genie Software. It seems to be a newer version because the old one was not good for me. The new one is quite good, though the PArental Control Settings do not work in the German version. You have to switch into English because in German there are some buttons missing.

    So I installed it on the new laptop first, joined the bypass there. Restarted the Router and then at least everything worked on the new laptop. Then I installed the Netgear Genie Software on the old laptop, joined the new bypass account there as well and then logged out of the bypass. That was the way I was looking for but could not find in the settings of the router nor in the User Management Utility. It works all great now. So my kids have a new laptop now. 

  • Avatar
    rotblitz

    Excellent!  Thanks for the feed-back and solution.

Please sign in to leave a comment.